Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
everyone by having a 250-horse power motor in the Solstice when the car is finally launched next year (and for the same projected cost)?

I'm by no means a car expert, but to me it seems like a roadster such a the Solstice would be perfectly matched with that size motor. Also, with regard to the "surprize" aspect, I do seem to recall that GM surprized a lot of people a few years ago -- and much to the dismay of their competitors -- by dropping a Corvette motor in the Camero. So one never knows...........

·
Registered
179 Posts
Well I'm going to surprise you with something!

so without any more delay...

SURPRISE!!!! GM will never "surprize" us with that kind of motor. I know so, and if you want to argue with me go ahead. However, they may "surprise" us with such a thing...

·
Premium Member
8,901 Posts
Dude, don't gotta be so rough on him naoki, he was just posting a hypothetical question. :skep

·
Mod Emeritus
7,468 Posts
Were not going to get that big of a surprise. GM has announced the 170 HP motor, and a base price right around $19.9, and that is what they will deliver.

Not all hope is lost however, their 2.0L supercharged is a likely higher output motor for the car (although by no means is it definately heading to the Solstice, there could be others, a turbo, the L850). But if it is, its getting close to your hoped output. Its listed at only 205 HP, 200 Lb-Ft, but it is underrated based on wheel dyno testing.

·
Registered
7 Posts
The Camaro getting the vette motor wasn't really a surprise. Ever since the L98s came out in the 80's, they have shared motors.

·
Premium Member
5,206 Posts
Saab has been doing turbos longer than Saturn has with superchargers on ecotec engines...

James' wish isn't too far from reality.

But, then again, as Austin Powers said,

"...and I want a toilet made of gold, baby, but it's not in the cards, is it?..."